Rome: city of seven hills

Tours Travel

Rome, the capital of Italy, is historically known as the “City of Seven Hills”. According to Roman mythology, the seven hills of early Rome were Cermalus, Cispius, Fagutal, Oppius, Palatium, Sucusa, and Velia. But now the modern ‘City of Seven Hills’ includes Myrtle, Blossom, Clock Tower, Jackson, Lumpkin and Old Shorter Hills and Mount Aventine.

At first, the seven hills were occupied by different small villages and they were not grouped together or recognized as a city called Rome. The residents of the seven hills began to participate in a series of religious games that began to bring the groups together. The city of Rome was thus born when these separate settlements acted as a group, draining the swampy valleys between them and turning them into markets. Rome became the most beautiful city in the world that soon began to rule the entire world.

Five of the seven hills of modern Rome are populated with monuments, buildings and parks. The Capitol now houses the municipality of Rome and the Palatine Hill is an archaeological area. The monuments of Rome remain a reminder of Rome as one of the greatest centers of Western civilization.

The Eternal City is home to a rich heritage and art. There are many luxurious old palaces and one of them is the ‘Golden House of Nero’. Built on approximately 200 acres of land, the palace has a 150-foot statue of nude Nero at the entrance. The only old building that remains intact today is ‘El PanteĆ³n’, whose spatial concept makes it an architectural marvel.

In addition, there are many more things like the Pantheon, the Roman Forum, the Vatican Museums, Piazza Navona and the Capitoline Museum that attract the attractions of visitors from all corners of the world. The charming city has one of the best collections of budget hotels, restaurants, cafes, bars, and shopping galleries that promise to make your trip a pleasant one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *